Kitten rescue!

24 Apr

This is a funny story, kind of dramatic.

First, some backround info.

We already had a dog when we brought Michi home, she came after another cat we had Garu (who’s in cat heaven now), mi dog’s name is Pucca, she sort of adopted Michi, Pucca nurtured her when she was growing and developed a close bond.

Over a month ago my cat Michi got pregneant, we of course did not noticed untill she had a big tummy, any way, we where making plans to get a box so that she could  have the kittens. The day after that, we noticed her  and Pucca where missing, we looked for them and found them underneath a uneaven part of our back yard, it made a good hiding place for her to have her kittens, when we looked in we saw Pucca inside too, we where amazed! Pucca was in a very protective position, we thought it was natural, maybe she was protecting Michi and her kittens from other cats or intruders.

Later that day, when I got home my father was having trouble with our pets, I got out and I saw Pucca and Michi out of the little hiding place, I thought maybe my dad got the kittens out of the hole. He told me that mi dog Pucca had a fight fir Michi over the hiding place, Michi had to leave the hole because of my dog! I was shocked! how could that be? We knew that Pucca didn’t want to hurt the kittens, so we got to the conclusion that Pucca thought that the kittens where her’s! (you know, Pucca raised Michi, maybe she made an asociation with them too).

We had to think of something to get the kittens out without hurting them, we got Pucca in a kennel and my dad started to grab wood to make a lever, I helped.

Little by little my dad lifted the piece of rock form it’s place, finally he got a hold of the kittens… THEY WHERE SO CUTE!!!! Michi had 4 kittens, 2 are white, 1 is white with a gray spot on it’s head and the last one looks just like Michi.

We had to move Michi and the kittens from the backyard to the front yard.

It was a risky mission but my dad pulled it off.

Michi closeup

Michi closeup

Pucca

Pucca

The hole

The hole

Kittens close up

Kittens close up

Michi with her kittens

Michi with her kittens

My other dog Mbalia

My other dog Mbalia

Leave a Reply

