An Essay on The career Of Language Teaching

4 Jun

The Language Teaching Profession

(Standing in front of them is not a “piece of cake”)

Most people can look back at their own school days and identify teachers they thought were good. But generally they find it quite hard to say why certain teachers struck them as special. Perhaps it was because of their personality. Probably it was because they had interesting things to say. Maybe the reason was that they looked as if they loved their job, or perhaps their interests in their students’ progress was compelling. Sometimes, it seems, it was just because the teacher was a fascinating person! (Harmer, 2007, p.23)

Jeremy Harmer writes about language teachers in his book How to Teach English and gives us his personal thought about what and why teachers should care about their profession, the beginning quote of my essay is very clear about the students perception of a teacher, he mentions personality, speech, sentimental, professional and interest aspects that reflect the students perception. It is very important that a “good” teacher maintains the proper interest in class so that the students don’t loose focus from the topic.

Good is just an adjective when mentioning a quality in a teacher, in fact, good is relative, as Harmer mentions in his book, there are many different elements that make a teacher a “good teacher”, “[…] a lot will depend, too, on how students view individual teachers and here again, not all students will share the same opinions.” (Harmer, 2007, p.23). Personally, I think that a teacher that has great performance is a teacher that takes in account each and everyone of the students way of thinking and interests, the teacher will create an environment that includes the students idea of a cool classroom. This might leave the teacher with the role of the provider only, but the fact that the students feel that their learning environment is in essence what they want it to be is a plus for the teacher and for his or her class. Also, a good teacher will think in advanced the classes that will be taught, considering each and every aspect that makes a class functional, that way the class by itself will flow naturally; when I started to teach I remember taking very lightly certain aspects, that now that I’ve advanced in this career know of them being important, like planning and relying solely on a book, my classes became dull and not interesting enough for the class, I had two groups and one of those groups was integrated by young adults, my boss only let me finish one semester with them and was not invited to the next one. It served me as experience because of my lack of professionalism, either way it was my first job as a teacher, not that is an excuse but its a factor to consider. We can not say that teachers are already good teachers when they begin their careers, the experiences along the path make the good teacher.

Making mistakes and learning from them help build character and makes teachers evolve, at the end of the road, even though some have a lifetime teaching, those experiences from which we learn never end. There are many points that make a teacher good at what he or she does, to my point of view they are resumed in: having a good personality, being able to adapt with any circumstance, listening to students, respecting students and adding variety to the classes.

I think at this point I have the necessary knowledge to teach, although I know that I always have to be up to date, reading about new methods and learning from my other colleagues, as a teacher it is very important to share your knowledge that’s primarily why I became a teacher, and the fact the other teachers share their experiences and knowledge helps to build up more elements to use in class. In this case using others methods is not copying or infringing in some copyright title but in continuing others legacies and using ideas to create a better learning environment.

In the future, hopefully I will be able to open a language school where I can create with other teacher a community where everyone is capable of helping the other, respecting teaching styles and enabling the students to choose their teachers according to what they have to offer, thus encouraging teachers to think about their students and not the payment. Because for me the student is first, if the students are happy, more will come looking for the good teacher, and if they find it, that community will grow, and more teachers will be needed to open other schools like the one I want to open, I can only imagine how that environment will be, having such good elements working together. This is how I see myself in a few years, maybe not two or three but I know that in time it will happen.

Teaching is not an easy job, but is a necessary one, and can be very rewarding when we see our students’ progress and know that we had helped them make it happen. It is true that some lessons and students can be difficult and stressful at times, but it is also worth remembering that at its best teaching can also be extremely enjoyable. (Harmer, 2007, p.23)

Reference

Harmer Jeremy, How to Teach English, 2007.

The Language Teaching Profession

(Standing in front of them is not a “piece of cake”)

Most people can look back at their own school days and identify teachers they thought were good. But generally they find it quite hard to say why certain teachers struck them as special. Perhaps it was because of their personality. Probably it was because they had interesting things to say. Maybe the reason was that they looked as if they loved their job, or perhaps their interests in their students’ progress was compelling. Sometimes, it seems, it was just because the teacher was a fascinating person! (Harmer, 2007, p.23)

Jeremy Harmer writes about language teachers in his book How to Teach English and gives us his personal thought about what and why teachers should care about their profession, the beginning quote of my essay is very clear about the students perception of a teacher, he mentions personality, speech, sentimental, professional and interest aspects that reflect the students perception. It is very important that a “good” teacher maintains the proper interest in class so that the students don’t loose focus from the topic.

Good is just an adjective when mentioning a quality in a teacher, in fact, good is relative, as Harmer mentions in his book, there are many different elements that make a teacher a “good teacher”, “[…] a lot will depend, too, on how students view individual teachers and here again, not all students will share the same opinions.” (Harmer, 2007, p.23). Personally, I think that a teacher that has great performance is a teacher that takes in account each and everyone of the students way of thinking and interests, the teacher will create an environment that includes the students idea of a cool classroom. This might leave the teacher with the role of the provider only, but the fact that the students feel that their learning environment is in essence what they want it to be is a plus for the teacher and for his or her class. Also, a good teacher will think in advanced the classes that will be taught, considering each and every aspect that makes a class functional, that way the class by itself will flow naturally; when I started to teach I remember taking very lightly certain aspects, that now that I’ve advanced in this career know of them being important, like planning and relying solely on a book, my classes became dull and not interesting enough for the class, I had two groups and one of those groups was integrated by young adults, my boss only let me finish one semester with them and was not invited to the next one. It served me as experience because of my lack of professionalism, either way it was my first job as a teacher, not that is an excuse but its a factor to consider. We can not say that teachers are already good teachers when they begin their careers, the experiences along the path make the good teacher.

Making mistakes and learning from them help build character and makes teachers evolve, at the end of the road, even though some have a lifetime teaching, those experiences from which we learn never end. There are many points that make a teacher good at what he or she does, to my point of view they are resumed in: having a good personality, being able to adapt with any circumstance, listening to students, respecting students and adding variety to the classes.

I think at this point I have the necessary knowledge to teach, although I know that I always have to be up to date, reading about new methods and learning from my other colleagues, as a teacher it is very important to share your knowledge that’s primarily why I became a teacher, and the fact the other teachers share their experiences and knowledge helps to build up more elements to use in class. In this case using others methods is not copying or infringing in some copyright title but in continuing others legacies and using ideas to create a better learning environment.

In the future, hopefully I will be able to open a language school where I can create with other teacher a community where everyone is capable of helping the other, respecting teaching styles and enabling the students to choose their teachers according to what they have to offer, thus encouraging teachers to think about their students and not the payment. Because for me the student is first, if the students are happy, more will come looking for the good teacher, and if they find it, that community will grow, and more teachers will be needed to open other schools like the one I want to open, I can only imagine how that environment will be, having such good elements working together. This is how I see myself in a few years, maybe not two or three but I know that in time it will happen.

Teaching is not an easy job, but is a necessary one, and can be very rewarding when we see our students’ progress and know that we had helped them make it happen. It is true that some lessons and students can be difficult and stressful at times, but it is also worth remembering that at its best teaching can also be extremely enjoyable. (Harmer, 2007, p.23)

Leave a Reply

